Murphys

Murphys

screencapture-google-search-2018-11-06-10_39_44Murphys is a charming gold rush town with many ‘up scale’ shops and art galleries as well as restaurants and shady parks along the strong flowing mill chase. This charismatic town is at the center of the Calaveras Wine Country with many award winning vineyards to choose from.

This place is called Murphys because it was founded by the brothers John and Daniel Murphy after they discovered gold in 1849. The objective of many immigrants coming over the Sierras by Ebbetts Pass, Murphys Flat and surrounding mines produced 20 million dollars in gold. Early regulations restricted claims to 8 ft. square. A suspension flume conveying water across Murphys Creek and drainage race draining the flat were two outstanding accomplishments of early day miners.

MurphysVineyard_1000x667The Murphys Hotel is one of the oldest hotels still operating in California. First named after James L. Sperry and John Perry on August 20, 1856, it was renamed the Mitchler Hotel in 1882. Notable guests include Mark Twain and former President Ulysses S. Grant. In 1945 it was named Murphys Hotel by the McKimins family. Since 2003 long-time Calaveras county resident Dorian Faught became the sixth owner of the Murphys Hotel.